Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
Are (freelance) translators also affected by vicarious trauma ?
Thread poster: Ermelie
Ermelie
Ermelie
France
Local time: 13:39
English to French
+ ...
Apr 23, 2020

Dear ProZ members,

I am a French translation student looking for information about vicarious trauma for my Master’s thesis.

I have found some documentation related to the work of interpreters, but nothing related to translators. I know it happens, as a translator once talked about it in a meeting, but I wonder if it happens frequently, if a category of translators is more likely to be affected by it, if some research on translators has been conducted (that I haven’
... See more
Dear ProZ members,

I am a French translation student looking for information about vicarious trauma for my Master’s thesis.

I have found some documentation related to the work of interpreters, but nothing related to translators. I know it happens, as a translator once talked about it in a meeting, but I wonder if it happens frequently, if a category of translators is more likely to be affected by it, if some research on translators has been conducted (that I haven’t found…), etc.

I would be very grateful for any general information or personal experience that you could share on this topic. Also please let me know if I can contact you directly.

Thank you very much for taking the time to read this post. I am looking forward to reading your responses!
Collapse

Tom in London
Tom in London
United Kingdom
Local time: 12:39
Member (2008)
Italian to English
No idea Apr 23, 2020

I have no idea what vicarious trauma is, so presumably I am not suffering from it.

expressisverbis
Peter Simon
Aline Amorim
Philip Lees
Philippe Etienne
Liviu-Lee Roth

expressisverbis
expressisverbis
Portugal
Member (2015)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Never heard it... Apr 23, 2020

Is it a psychological stress related to one's job?
If yes, no, I don't suffer from it.

Peter Simon

Mervyn Henderson (X)