Poll: Would you certify and stamp your own translation?
Thread poster: ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
ProZ.com Staff
SITE STAFF
Mar 23

This forum topic is for the discussion of the poll question "Would you certify and stamp your own translation?".

This poll was originally submitted by Sophie Meis. View the poll results »

Sundar Gopalakrishnan
Sundar Gopalakrishnan
India
Local time: 11:50
English to Tamil
+ ...
Why not? Mar 23

I would certainly certify and stamp my translation. Because I am a perfectionist as a translator. I am very confident about my translations.

neilmac
neilmac
Spain
Local time: 08:20
Spanish to English
+ ...
Yes Mar 23

I am not a sworn translator, but sometimes my clients ask me for a certificate to show that their texts submitted for publication have been translated by a native English speaker - some journals appear to request this. I'm quite happy to certify and sign/stamp my own work.

On the few occasions that a sworn translation is required, I can usually recommend a qualified colleague to provide the service.

Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida
Maria Teresa Borges de Almeida  Identity Verified
Portugal
Local time: 07:20
Member (2007)
English to Portuguese
+ ...
Other (it depends) Mar 23

Some UK agencies require that I join to some of my translations a certificate of accuracy (I’m happy to do it, though I find it rather silly and bureaucratic as I’m not going to say that my translation is not accurate, am I?). In Portugal, unlike other countries there are no certified or sworn translators and the certification is made by accredited certification bodies (namely lawyers and attorneys, chambers of commerce, notaries…), so I entered into an agreement with an attorney to that e... See more