Kean Hall
Kean Hall
Italy
Local time: 17:46
Member (2018)
Italian to English
Jun 19, 2022

Hello,
A local company is enjoying mercurial success in a particular sector in which I have extensive experience. The English translations on their website are truly dreadful. Not all of them - but most. It's sad, because their products are really top notch. And product reliability is everything to them. I suspect they're struggling to keep pace with their own success. I want to pitch to them. Any experience of cold-pitching to direct clients? I have no direct contacts within the company.
... See more
Hello,
A local company is enjoying mercurial success in a particular sector in which I have extensive experience. The English translations on their website are truly dreadful. Not all of them - but most. It's sad, because their products are really top notch. And product reliability is everything to them. I suspect they're struggling to keep pace with their own success. I want to pitch to them. Any experience of cold-pitching to direct clients? I have no direct contacts within the company. I think if I just email their "info" email I won't get anywhere. I have their CEO's LinkedIn details but he doesn't post, so it would feel a bit indiscreet just trying to contact him directly. They have a "careers" section on their website, so I'm thinking of sending them my "pitch" via their standardised form, which is essentially for prospective employees.

Ideas I've got in mind:
- Write a covering letter highlighting the damage they're doing to their reputation because of their poorly-written website. I'm worried, however, that this might appear arrogant.
- Give one of their texts a complete makeover, with comments about why I've changed things, including incorrect terminology, poor copywriting, spelling mistakes (!), unclear instructions.
- Give them an estimate for what would amount to post-editing their poorly-written copy