Trados Studio 2022 - stuck at "The project must contain at least one translatable file"
Thread poster: Kathleen Tunney
Kathleen Tunney
Kathleen Tunney
United States
Local time: 08:55
Member (2021)
German to English
Jul 8, 2023

Hello!

I'm brand new to Trados Studio. I have version 2022 SR 1. To learn this software, I purchased the Trados Studio Level 1 eLearning course. Everything was going swimmingly until I reached the point in the workbook where I have to create a new project.

I started to use the wizard, but immediately ran into a snag. When I type in the location path D:\Studio 2022\Projects\Samples\Space Travel Project\, I get an error message saying "The specified project already contai
... See more
Hello!

I'm brand new to Trados Studio. I have version 2022 SR 1. To learn this software, I purchased the Trados Studio Level 1 eLearning course. Everything was going swimmingly until I reached the point in the workbook where I have to create a new project.

I started to use the wizard, but immediately ran into a snag. When I type in the location path D:\Studio 2022\Projects\Samples\Space Travel Project\, I get an error message saying "The specified project already contains some files. Please specify an empty or non-existing folder."

I thought there was supposed to be a file in there. (There is; it's a .docx file.) I also have no idea what it means to specify a "non-existing folder"!

I then removed the file from the folder, but then got the error message saying, "The project must contain at least one translatable file."

So which is it???? First I'm told to specify an empty folder, and when I make sure it's empty, I'm told I'm missing at least one translatable file. Catch 22?

Now I'm stuck and can't continue with the workbook, which subsequently instructs me to work on the project I'm unable to create.

Can anyone help? This is making me slightly crazy.

Thanks in advance!
Kathleen
Collapse

Dan Lucas
Dan Lucas  Identity Verified
United Kingdom