Thread poster: Heather Fremont
Heather Fremont
Heather Fremont  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 05:11
Portuguese to English
+ ...
Mar 15, 2023

I am a US-based translator. I was recently asked to provide my rates in BRL for an company based in Argentina. I am concerned about this as the current exchange rate is is 1 USD to 5.31 BRL so my rates may seem exhorbitant in BRL. How should I approach this? Thanks!

John Fossey
John Fossey  Identity Verified
Canada
Member (2008)
French to English
+ ...
Exchange rates Mar 15, 2023

I always quote in the client's currency, after checking exchange rates. If you quote in your own currency the client has to make that calculation, which is just another hurdle to overcome to get the order.

When providing services from a high cost-of-living country (such as USA) to a lower cost-of-living country it is normal for your rate to seem high, but it's not because of the exchange rate.

Baran Keki
Marijke Singer
Thayenga

Philippe Etienne
Philippe Etienne  Identity Verified
Spain
Local time: 11:11
English to French
Argentina? Mar 15, 2023

They surely don't want an invoice in dollars. The country had an inflation rate of 100% last year. https://www.barrons.com/news/argentina-ended-2022-with-94-8-inflation-highest-in-32-years-official-01673551508

Even though they bet on a moderate 60% increase in 2023, what you quote now will be worth much less in dol
... See more
They surely don't want an invoice in dollars. The country had an inflation rate of 100% last year. https://www.barrons.com/news/argentina-ended-2022-with-94-8-inflation-highest-in-32-years-official-01673551508

Even though they bet on a moderate 60% increase in 2023, what you quote now will be worth much less in dollars if you offer them long payment terms. It's the difference between expectations and actual earnings that will be exorbitant!

Philippe