Pages in topic:   [1 2] >
being paid only for the words you correct, not all of the words you check and read...
Thread poster: Heather Fremont
Heather Fremont
Heather Fremont  Identity Verified
United States
Local time: 12:31
Portuguese to English
+ ...
Mar 15, 2023

Hello,
I am new to the world of machine translation, having focused on literary translation and copyediting for many years.

I have just begun working with a very large LSP. We agreed on a rate of three cents per word for proofreading. However, when I was sent a file, I was given an extremely low price based on the match percentages. For a job of 1738 words, I am only paid the full three cents for the words with low match percentage. However, in the notes for the job, I am sp
... See more
Hello,
I am new to the world of machine translation, having focused on literary translation and copyediting for many years.

I have just begun working with a very large LSP. We agreed on a rate of three cents per word for proofreading. However, when I was sent a file, I was given an extremely low price based on the match percentages. For a job of 1738 words, I am only paid the full three cents for the words with low match percentage. However, in the notes for the job, I am specifically told to check ad proofread all context and 100% matches as well. I am very confused by this. I come from a copyediting background where I am paid a certain rate per word regardless of how many of those words need corrections.

For a different language service provider I did similar proofreading/MTPE jobs and was paid per source word regardless of how many corrections I actually made.
Is it normal to be paid only for the words that actually need correcting, as opposed to being paid for all of the words that you take the time and cognitive effort to check and read? I cannot afford to read and check thousands of words and only be paid for correcting a few words....can anyone afford to do this??