DeepL
Thread poster: Gerard Barry
Gerard Barry
Gerard Barry
Germany
Local time: 00:52
German to English
Jun 19, 2021

I work as an in-house translator. My company has recently introduced DeepL. This means that everyone at the company will now be able to have their texts translated by DeepL if they so wish (as opposed to giving the work to us in the translation department). I've seen some of the DeepL translations and they're pretty damn good. I'm just wondering what other translators' thoughts are on the subject. Will DeepL replace a lot of translators? It's clearly faster than a human translator, and I presume... See more
I work as an in-house translator. My company has recently introduced DeepL. This means that everyone at the company will now be able to have their texts translated by DeepL if they so wish (as opposed to giving the work to us in the translation department). I've seen some of the DeepL translations and they're pretty damn good. I'm just wondering what other translators' thoughts are on the subject. Will DeepL replace a lot of translators? It's clearly faster than a human translator, and I presume cheaper too. And as I said, the quality seems pretty good in the translated texts I've seen.Collapse

Sandra & Kenneth Grossman
Sandra & Kenneth Grossman  Identity Verified
Israel
Local time: 01:52
French to English
+ ...
Possibly Jun 20, 2021

Gerard Barry wrote:
Will DeepL replace a lot of translators? It's clearly faster than a human translator, and I presume cheaper too. And as I said, the quality seems pretty good in the translated texts I've seen.

Hi Gerard,
It's hard to say. While DeepL is pretty good on general texts, it is also quite awful on specialized technical terminology, as well as marketing and legal texts, apart from stereotypes, and I would not rely on it for important documents.
It is quite likely that there will be a lot more editing work and less translation, possibly for a smaller number of translators.